Jewel Fury are the 2018 National Amateur Women’s League Champions

On Saturday June 23, 2018 at the Isidoro Beaton Stadium in capital city Belmopan, Jewel Fury and Toledo Rumberas faced off for the final match of the 2018 National Amateur Women’s League. Jewel Fury’s Jayda Brown opened the scoresheet in the 6 minute of the game, Vaylene Lambert added 1 goal in the 9th minute and Suswani Martinez scoring the final goal in the 15th minute giving the home team a 3-0 advantage. The Game ended in favor of Jewel Fury 3 goals to 0.

The game was followed by an awards ceremony led by Mr. Ian Jones, Executive Director for the National Sports Council, who deputized for Hon. Patrick Faber, Minister of Education Youth Sports and Culture, Mistress of ceremonies was Ms. Yasmin Juan, and accompanying Mr. Jones were representatives from the Football Federation of Belize. They were Mr. Cruz Gamez, Shane Orio, Phillip Marin, Iris Centeno and Luis Peña.

Individual Awards given out are as follows:

  • MVP – Jennisha Scott – Jewel Fury
  • Most Goals – Kate Jones – Gladiators
  • Best Goalkeeper – Idania Ramirez – Jewel Fury
  • Best Defender – Carla Flores – Toledo Rumberas
  • Best Midfielder – Suswani Martinez – Jewel Fury
  • Best Young Player – Ashley Rodriguez –Toledo Rumberas
  • Best Coach – Jose Chirinos –Toledo Rumberas
  • Best Manager – Miguel Gongora – Jewel Fury
  • Best Attacking Player – Kaite Jones – Gladiators
  • Most Entertaining Team – Gladiators
  • Fair Play – Dangriga Pumas

FFB congratulates Jewel Fury on their win and wish them best of luck as they will represent the country later on in Panama. Information regarding this to be posted on a later date. FFB expreses its heartfelt thanks to all those who participated in the competition and all individuals and sponsors who made this possible.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *